An number of users have reported recieving the following email in their college inbox that seems to be sent by other students:
This is a phishing email and should be delete without clicking on the 'display message' link
This spam email is quite sophisticated in that it is uses the title of a genuine email that you have replied to previously in order to trick you into believing it is authentic.
If you open the email in Outlook, you will see a mostly blank email with a notification at the top saying, “If there are problems with how this message is displayed, click here to view in a web browser” or something similar. Please do not click on this link as doing so would allow the sender of this email to collect your user information
On mobile devices and in OWA, the email appears with a blue button saying ‘Display Message’. Do not open this email as it could damage your computer and may make your private details vulnerable.
If you have clicked on the link and you are likely to be presented with a genuine looking website (BBC, CNN etc.) informing you of a special offer, free prize etc (example: free bitcoins).
Clicking on this will ask you to login with your username or password. DO NOT ENTER YOUR CREDENTIALS – this will give the attacker access to your email account, including access to your address book in contacts.
If you have already clicked on the link and entered your current password - please change your password immediately
Responding or replying to this email only propogates it further and users are protected if they click on the link if using a college computer - our protection systems are blocking it (nothing happens)
If you have any concerns or questions regarding recieving the above email, please contact the helpdesk
For tips on keeping yourself and your information safe online, visit the IT web page on PC Security.